Breast Cancer: Multidisciplinary Team

Many different healthcare experts participate in the care of each woman with breast cancer. The breast cancer team includes the following specialists:

Breast Cancer Surgery

Asha Chhablani, MD
Nora Jaskowiak, MD
Swati Kulkarni, MD

Medical Oncology

Suzanne Conzen, MD
Gini Fleming, MD
Olwen Hahn, MD
Philip Hoffman, MD
Rita Nanda, MD
Olufunmilayo Olopade, MD
Brooke Phillips, MD


Jeffrey Mueller, DO
Husain Sattar, MD

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

David Chang, MD
Julie Park, MD
David Song, MD

Radiation Oncology

Azhar Awan, MD
Steven Chmura, MD, PhD
Yasmin Hasan, MD


Hiroyuki Abe, MD
Kirti Kulkarni, MD
David Schacht, MD, MPH
Charlene Sennett, MD
Akiko Shimauchi, MD, PhD


Susan Hong, MD, MPH

Because communication among these specialists is vital, the entire team meets weekly at the University of Chicago Multidisciplinary Breast Cancer Conference to plan care for breast cancer patients. At these meetings, participants share information and insights from patient care and research, leading to the best possible treatment for each patient.