Request an Appointment:
Online or Call 1-888-824-0200

Stages of a Seizure

A seizure has three stages. They are:

Aura Stage

An aura happens before a seizure and may alert a person that a seizure may occur. Auras typically begin seconds before the seizure.

The symptoms that accompany an aura can vary depending on the type of seizure and the area of the brain affected. Some symptoms of aura include:

  • Unusual feelings
  • Abnormal sensations
  • Forced thinking
  • Deja vu (familiar feelings) or jamais vu (unfamiliar feelings)
  • Perceived sounds, tastes, or smells (some people report smelling burning rubber, for example)
  • Physical sensations, like dizziness, headache, numbness, and lightheadedness
  • Nausea
  • Distorted emotions, such as panic or fear

Back to top

Ictus Stage

Ictus is another word for the seizure itself -- the part of the seizure that outsiders can witness. It can be convulsive, commonly called “grand mal,” or non-convulsive, such as staring and inability to respond normally.

Back to top

Postictal Stage

The postictal stage occurs after the ictus or active stage of the seizure. During the postictal stage, the body begins to relax, and aftereffects may set in. The type and length of aftereffects will vary from person to person and may include:

  • Numbness
  • Headache
  • Fatigue and drowsiness
  • Partial paralysis
  • Confusion and agitation
  • Loss of consciousness or unresponsiveness
  • Loss of bowel or bladder control

Back to top

More Information